Year in Review Questionnaire

Trying my hand at an internet meme/ survey that I copied from Clueless But Hopeful who got it from Linda. It makes for way more than 50 words.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
Drove in uncharted urban territory with my 8 year old in charge of the iphone navigation. Those last minute lane changes were more intense than a roller coaster and we fell off the map so many times it took us 3 times longer than it should have to get there, but we did it. He did great.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I have no idea what my resolutions were, so I am guessing I did not keep them. I did explore writing and religion which may have been on the list. This year my family and I have  a shared resolution and a blog to go with it.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
My sister. Damn niece did not wait for her due date, so I missed it. She’s very cute though.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No.

5. What countries did you visit?
Did not leave the USA, but made progress on the home front. River has now visited 26 states, and Creek has visited 24.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
Home equity. Or at least contentment with current home. Or maybe just no tree roots in my plumbing.
Direction in both the professional and personal senses. Who/ what do I want to be when I grow up? How do I get there?

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Plenty of memories, but none really stand out as linked with their dates.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Increased sense of community close to home

9. What was your biggest failure?
Did not manage money well enough. Did not read enough to my kids. Did not play enough games with them. Did not solve their biggest issues. Or mine. Plenty of work left for next year :)

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Just the kind of injury you get when you train irresponsibly for a half marathon.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A purse from a craft fair in Santa Cruz. I literally walked up to the lady selling them and said something like, “I have been mocking people who spend hundreds of dollars on purses all my life. I never got it, but now that I have seen your purses I understand. If I had hundreds of dollars I would buy one.” Then I proceeded to buy her small wallet sized version and call my mother to see if maybe she’d like to give it to me for Christmas. I love it.

12. Where did most of your money go?
Mortgage, credit card company, travel

13. What did you get really excited about?
Honey mustard pretzels

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?
The entire Weepies Be My Thrill album

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:


– happier or sadder? Happier, I think.
– thinner or fatter? Fatter, for sure.
– richer or poorer? Uncertain. Perhaps I should invest more time in managing our financial life. Refer to item #9.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Exercise, play games with my kids, sit on the swing, cross things off my list, unplug

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Mind numbing internet time wasting

18. How did you spend Christmas?
I did not leave my inlaws’ house all day, except for a walk to the park.

19. What was your favorite TV program?
Little House on the Prairie and/ or Louie C.K. (I doubt that Laura Ingalls Wilder and Louie C.K would appreciate the association with the other though.)

20. What were your favorite books of the year?
Room by Emma Donahue
AWOL on the Appalachian Trail by David Miller

21. What was your favorite music from this year?
See #14, but I also discovered the song Adrian by Mason Jennings in a deeper way this year.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?
The John Adams mini series. Loved it. New to me and mine in 2011.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 34 on my first ever boy scout camp out. No one there knew except River –  who forgot – so no one wished me a happy birthday, but I did not mind. I liked camping with River. When we climbed to the top of a hill I got a bit of cell reception and a really nice birthday email or two came through. And when I got home they next day we ate cake.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Hmmm…

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
Low maintenance and a bit sloppy, but well manicured.

26. What kept you sane?
Cooperative garden with friends, pulling Creek out of preschool, finding the Unitarian Universalist Church, walking & jogging, time outside, family & friends …

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.
Too deep for tonight. In the interest of finishing this post, I will have to table it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Becci
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 12:13:44

    Love your list! I can see you in all the things you wrote about. :)

    Here’s mine. You inspired me to finally write one.

    http://expeditionkids.blogspot.com/2012/01/2011-recap.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Copyright © 2011 · All Rights Reserved · beyonddiapers.wordpress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

